The PlayIt Software Users Facebook group provides a much faster response to questions. Please consider joining.
Start a new topic

Basic Set Up

Hello all,

I'm new to all of this and have downloaded the software, which looks great.  My question is;

I have an external sounds card, the ESI Maya44USB+

I have also downloaded the VB-Audio Banana

I have a Behringer 1622USB mixer

My friends have set up an online station in Spain, called Beach Radio Spain, beachradiospain.com and have asked if I can contribute, thus my questions.

Firstly, has anyone set up a similar system?

I am trying to set it up so that I can use the mixer, I have managed to get the 3 players assigned, but need to know how to get the audio to the steam so that I can present live shows.

Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

Cheers

Nick

Hello Nick,

What you have is a fairly good setup for PlayIt Live.

I've never used the Behringer 1622USB mixer but while it isn't a "radio" desk it will be quite workable.

The mic inputs have level controls and compression (I would recommend running into slight compression at normal "presenting" level) and I expect your sound card (the ESI Maya44USB+) can do some form of output level control. I've generally good experiences of the ESI cards.

I don't think you need the VB-Audio Banana actually for your application.

My personal suggestion would be to use the two stereo channels of the ESI Maya44USB+ into the stereo channels of the Behringer (say 5/6 & 7/8) I would then use the computer sound output into 9/10. Take the sound card input connection (mixer out) from the 2 Track phono sockets.

Assign two players to the ESI outputs (inputs to the mixer 5/6 & 7/8) and the carts to the computer sound card output (input 9/10 to the mixer). Use the built in Behringer sound card for the preview player (as it doesn't present on a channel). 

This should work fairly nicely.