The PlayIt Software Users Facebook group provides a much faster response to questions. Please consider joining.
Start a new topic

Playit Issue with Scarlett 2i2 mic line in

Hi. I’m new to Playit (downloaded it yesterday). I am having fun working some things out and have added all my music. It’s an impressive tool. I’ve going to be using it to broadcast a live show onto an internet radio station. I’ve downloaded the Broadcast plugin and the Microphone Mix plugin in and they are running. I have an XLR mic connected to a Scarlett 2i2 which is connected to my PC via USB. The issue I’m having is that the Mic plugin offers me the Scarlett as both Mic input and playback but when I select it, no meter appears above the Push To Talk button and no sound leaves the Scarlett and reaches Playit (the mic is working as the Scarlett light shows me that). If I use a USB headset with microphone and plug it straight into the PC, there is no issue with the Plugin and everything works as it should. But I’d like to use my XLR mic through the Scarlett for broadcasting my show. Any idea what the issue may be given the Mic plugin is “seeing” the Scarlett and any suggestions as how to resolve it? Could it have something to do with my PC sound card? Any help appreciated. Many thanks, Michael

Hello Michael,

A very nice audio interface. Not something I've got myself or had any experience of but I've had a few Windows 10 and soundcard issues.

Just guessing, I wonder if it is a sample rate problem.

Is there some sort of driver for the Focusrite and can it be given different settings ? I would try 44,1kHz 16bit personally.

Also, and perhaps not what you want to hear, the Focusrite wouldn't be my first choice for this application.

The Focusrite is excellent for recording into a digital audio workstation but I would recommend looking at the Yamaha AG03 for a very simple PlayIt Live setup. It isn't perfect for the application but it is quite close.