The PlayIt Software Users Facebook group provides a much faster response to questions. Please consider joining.
Start a new topic

Microphone Latency

Hi

I am relatively new to PlayIt - highly impressed ! I have a slight problem regarding latency / delay on the microphone. I am using the Microphone Mix plugin, & a basic microphone into the line in / mic in socket on my laptop running windows 10. The microphone is delayed when I monitor from the laptop on headphones. I have de-selected the 'Listen to this device' box related to the mic & Stereo Mix but still get this latency problem. Am I overlooking something obvious ?

Would a virtual audoi cable or something like the VoiceMeeter Banana mixer help, or am I totally on the wrong track here ?

Hope you can help. Many thanks.

Jim Salmon     www.emmatoc.com

Hello Jim,

I would expect detectable latency with the microphone plug in.

Personally I would use a "real" microphone/line mixer and loop the sound through the mixer (Playit sound  out of sound card into mixer and back in if needed).

I can't suggest an ideal mixer for this application as I've not found one but a sound card and more or less any mixer would do. 

Hello again Jim,

While not "perfect", the Yamaha AG03 merits consideration.

I have far too many mixers already (!) but it seems well thought through and if I were buying another it might be on my list.

I await with interest further products in the range, the AG06 seems to be going in the wrong direction but Yamaha seem to at least "get it" a bit.

Hi Mark

thanks for the comments. Yes - I'd thought of the sound out & then back in again, & whilst this works, it seemed to be getting over complicated ! If I go along that route I'll probably run from 2 laptops, with one into the mixer along with mic & then a 2nd one for the encoding to stream.