The PlayIt Software Users Facebook group provides a much faster response to questions. Please consider joining.
Start a new topic
Solved

PlayIt Live disconnects from net

I’m new to this. I used the plug-in inside the program to connect to my service which then connects to ShoutCast. Everything, for the most part works fine and sounds great. Here’s the issue- from time to time (random) the program will just disconnect from the Internet. The program itself is still running, the plug-in says it’s still streaming, the green “On Air” is still lit but it is not streaming. I have to manually tell the plug-in to disconnect, then re-connect, and everything is fine till the next time. The problem is I’m losing time, and I’m sure listeners, when they find dead air. Winamp and their plug-in does not have this issue at all.

Additional- After I wrote the above it died again. I heard it. The audio got real quiet- then it went off all together. I shut the program down and restarted. After the restart it’s running fine. I’m thinking the program leaks memory... If that’s the case it’ll need a restart every other day. Thanks! Gerry

Hello Gerry,

From my experience, on a LAN at least, PlayIt Live is extremely stable including the streaming plug in.

I have a couple of test setups which I run for experimental purposes to (in this case Icecast) servers based on Raspberry Pi's. Assuming I don't let Windows updates happen, the Windows 10 machine will run for weeks.

The Windows 7 machine has a slightly dodgy sound card driver so will typically only go for a few days.

For what it's worth, I've had loads of driver problems with sound cards and Windows 10.

I might look there first.

If you have a mixer then you could also run a second streaming program (B.U.T.T for example) for comparison.