The PlayIt Software Users Facebook group provides a much faster response to questions. Please consider joining.
Start a new topic

Audio Problems including momentary dropouts.

I am not an expert when it comes to PCs, however my experiences might help others solve similar problems.  My OS is  Win 8.1 on a consumer PC made by HP.  2 years old with an Athelon 1.6, 6 gig of RAM, integrated Real Tech sound and video.

I am running ASIO USB drivers for Playit Live In the Live assist mode for each Cart Player on the screen.   Play It Live PFL is set to PC speakers. 

PlayIt Live plays without error continuously, however occasionally we hear a audio dropout of half a second.  Initially we saw this happen when the Hard Drive was at 100% for too long. Seemed like all the time.  

All unnecessary programs were uninstalled.  We looked for Malware, Ran Virus Scans and sought out anything that did not belong.  Nothing was found. All the PC drivers were checked and rechecked.   Uninstalled and re-installed.  But the dropouts continued. 

Running the windows System File Checker did find and fix corrupt files.  (run CMD as an Adminstrator then SFC /scannow)  Look this up on Microsoft's website before trying this.

After some satisfaction that something was solved (Disk at 100% was solved), we continued to hear audio dropouts.  Watching the Task Manager Performance: 100% CPU Spikes corresponded to opening Software like IE and processes caused by McAfee.

There are some very good articles regarding PC configurations and Sound Issues such as Dropouts.   A you-tube video    "Tweaking Windows 8.1 For Audio and Music Production"  was very good.  Take notes.  I did everything mentioned there and definitely saw performance improvements.  

My dropouts finally stopped when I used the Mcafee Firewall to lockdown incoming and outgoing internet activity  followed by turning off Real Time Virus Scanning. I also avoided opening up any programs while PlayIt Live is working.